- Academic OneFile
Covers over 8,000 journals from all fields of study. It includes a mix of magazine and journal articles.
- Academic Search Premier
A very large general academic database covering a broad range of topics. It includes a mix of magazine and journal articles. Many items are full text.
- Biography in Context
Contains biographical information from encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other publications.
- Biomedical Reference Center
Focuses on topics such as clinical medicine, the health care system, and dentistry. Good source of scholarly articles.
- Boston Globe
- Business Insights: Essentials
Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
- Business Source Premier
Includes journal articles from all aspects of business plus research reports, industry reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Includes topics such as nursing, consumer health, and alternative medicine. Includes both scholarly and consumer articles.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The premier evidence-based medicine database, contains systematic reviews and other types of medical information that can guide clinical decision making.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides information about language, mass media, communication, and advertising with many articles available full-text.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
Includes more than 330 videos focusing on social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes examples of consultations, counseling sessions, interviews, lectures, and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
- Dance in Video
Contains hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
- Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences
Provides descriptive information on over 300 psychological scales, questionnaires, and inventories. All items are sport-specific and include information about the availability of the instrument.
An evidence-based medical information database with nearly 3,000 summaries of clinical topics. Updated daily.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost
Search and view the full text of e-books. Includes fiction and nonfiction titles.
A collection of thousands of e-books covering all academic subjects.
- Educator's Reference Complete
Includes more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. The content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Provides excellent overviews of thousands of subjects. Great place to get background information on a topic.
Covers journal and report literature in disciplines related to education.
- Films on Demand
A streaming video service that provides users with access to hundreds of videos related to the Humanities and Social Sciences. Users can watch, mark, and share videos.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of reference books on many topics that can be searched and read online.
- General Business File
Index of business and trade journal articles on business, finance, mergers, trade, banking, and information for over 150,000 companies.
- General OneFile
General interest database of magazines, newspapers and reference sources. For information on current events, popular culture, the arts, sciences and sports.
- Global Issues in Context
Information on key issues and events across the world, broken down by issue and by country. Issues are framed by editorial essays and updated with current int'l news information.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free online resource which will allow you to quickly search hundreds of thousands of academic citations to articles, books, and more. Check full text access through Journal titles A-Z or order the items you find through Interlibrary Loan.
- Grant Select
Over 12,000 funding opportunities from federal agencies, foundations, and research institutes.
Includes scholarly, government, and general interest resources that focus on the environmental impact of human beings, corporations, and governments. Topics include global warming, sustainable agriculture, recycling, and more
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
- Health Reference Center
Covers topics such as nursing, nutrition, family health, and alternative medicine. Great source for consumer information for the general public.
- JSTOR Language and Literature Collection
Full text of 46 journals that span the literary cultures of many countries. The journals focus on both language and literature.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
An enormous aggregation of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Includes the full text of the New York Times (1980-present).
- Literary Reference Center
Provides information on approximately 140,000 authors from a wide range of literary disciplines and time frames as well as plot summaries, synopses, and overviews of their works. In addition, it also includes 14,500 short stories and 54,000 poems.
- Literature Resource Center
Contains biographical information, critical essays, and overviews of authors and their works.
- Medline Complete
One of the best sources for scholarly medical information on a huge range of topics. Articles are generally geared toward medical professionals and students.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
A comprehensive guide to over 2000 testing instruments, including information needed to evaluate or test products within areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- MLA International Bibliography
Over 1.8 million citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Links to some full-text are available via other Library databases. Book titles should be checked in online catalog.
- Nursing Resource Center
Articles, assessments, care plans and other materials intended for nurses and other care providers.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Search or browse through many current topics of interest here. Includes news, opinions and academic articles.
- OregonPDF in Health & Performance
Indexes theses and dissertations in the Human Movement Studies collection housed at the U. of Oregon.
- Oxford Art Online
Provides access to four key resources on the visual arts--painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Contains the definitions to over half a million words along with their pronunciations, etymology and examples of use.
- Physical Education Index
This database is good for detailed research in sport and exercise sciences. It has both popular and research materials in it.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full contents of the New York Times (1851-2009) and Washington Post (1877-1997).
Information on psychology and related disciplines, including journal articles and book chapters.
Citations describe articles from medical journals and include abstracts.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
An evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. Accessible content includes nearly 200 Clinical Reviews, more than 100 research instruments, information from AHFS on over 11,700 drugs and their manufacturers, more than 9,800 exercise images, and much more.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Includes research reports and charts, trade publications, international reports, and industry trends.
- Science in Context
Topic overviews on science topics with content pulled from reference books, biographies, periodicals, and images banks.
- Social Work Abstracts
Indexes citations to journals and dissertations in social work and social issues related to casework.
An excellent source of information on sociology and the social sciences, including full text for journals and information on books, dissertations, etc.
Contains information on all aspects of sports, physical education, health, etc.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Offers videos covering areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
- Springfield Republican and Western Massachusetts Newspapers
Online access to the Republican and other Western Massachusetts newspapers including: Advocate (North Adams), Amherst Bulletin, Berkshire Eagle, Daily Hampshire Gazette, North Adams Transcript, Recorder (Greenfield), Springfield Advocate, Springfield Examiner, and Valley Advocate.
- Teacher Reference Center
Indexes over 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books in education
- U.S. History in Context
Topic-based overviews of historical issues, events, and people. Each topic includes reference information, relevant news and journal articles, and some primary sources.
- Wall Street Journal
Full text, 1984-present.
- World History in Context
Topic overviews in world history, covering major figures, countries and cultures, historical eras, and other historical topics. Pulls from a huge collection of reference books, periodicals, and images.
Search for books, videos, and more from over 10,000 libraries worldwide. You can see if Babson Library owns an item by clicking on the title and entering our zip code 01109 in the Enter Location Information box located at the top of the page.