Databases - OverviewHomepage Overview and Getting HelpJournals - IntroductionLibrary Tour & IntroductionPopular vs. Scholarly Info.Requesting Materials (ILL)Topic/Research Question DevelopmentVoyager Catalog (books)
Effective Web SearchingEvaluating WebsitesWikis, Blogs and Content Creation
Basic Database Selection and SearchingDatabase Searching (Advanced)Finding a Cited ArticleFull Text - How and Where?Google ScholarPrimary & Secondary Sources
Avoiding Plagiarism and Citing SourcesCopyright Basics
RefWorksSelect Topics in Info. LiteracyStatistics and DemographicsTests and Measurements
Standard 1Standard 2Standard 3Standard 5
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Information Literacy Topics 

What topics and sessions can librarians and faculty at Springfield College offer to students?
Last update: Oct 08th, 2008 URL: http://spfldcol.libguides.com/iltopics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Basic Database Selection and Searching             Print Page
  
 

Request This Session!

If you would like a librarian to lead this session:

Email Chris and request this session!

Or

Contact your department's liaison!

 

ACRL Standards Covered

1.3 Students will be able to locate and retrieve resources within the physical and digital library.


2.4 Students will be able to demonstrate an understanding of the concepts of Boolean logic and term truncation.

 

See all standards on the Springfield College Matrix for Information Literacy

 
 

Content Covered

This session will introduce students with relatively little or no previous experience with databases to article searching on library subscription databases.

Topics include but are not limited to:

  • What is a database? What's in it?
  • Databases A-Z page
  • Subject Guide to Databases
  • Basic searching in a relevant database
  • Identifying parts of a database record
  • Finding Full Text

 

This session can be modified to cover a specific topic or subject area (i.e., history, occupational therapy, etc.)

Running time: 20-50min

Similar Session: Database Overview

 

Online Resources

 

Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageChris Bigelow
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Babson Library
Reference Office
(413) 748-3848
email: cbigelow@spfldcol.edu
Ask the Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Information Literacy, EMS, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Physician Assistant, Rehabilitation, Biology, Chemistry, Math, Physics, Computer Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait