Davis Grant ExercisesIL ExercisesIL Lesson Plans (older)
Overview of StandardsSC Info. Lit. MatrixStandard 1Standard 2Standard 3Standard 4Standard 5
Main Campus (form) SHS Regional Campuses 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Information Literacy Resources 

Information literacy resources for Springfield College faculty.
Last update: Aug 30th, 2009 URL: http://spfldcol.libguides.com/infolit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Standard 2             Print Page
  
 

Standard 2

Information Literacy Standards: Standard 2


The information literate student accesses needed information effectively and efficiently.


Objective General Education Discipline Specific
2.1 Students will be able to distinguish between online catalogs, databases, gateways to online databases, and Internet only search tools. Students will be able to demonstrate the ability to distinguish between online catalogs, library databases, and public internet search tools. Students will have a familiarity with the library homepage and how to locate various services and information resources from it.Students will be able to understand the differences between various databases and begin to understand how to select appropriate databases for specific information needs. Students will be able to demonstrate the ability to identify key resources and databases for a specific subject area. Students will be able to demonstrate an ability to select appropriate databases and research tools to support discipline and professional research.. Students will be able to identify and use databases that will provide information about specific types of research sources such as testing instruments, dissertations, conference papers, etc.
2.2 Students will be able to describe the organizational structure of library databases, and the difference between a keyword search and a subject or author search. Students will begin to understand how database and catalog records are designed and how this understanding can help refine search strategies and topic development. Students will be able to distinguish between keyword and field searching. Students will be able to design effective keyword and fielded searches for a particular topic.
2.3 Students will be able to demonstrate an understanding of what a controlled vocabulary is and why it is used.

 

 

Students will be able to demonstrate an understanding of controlled vocabulary and how it relates to a particular subject area. Students will be able to use appropriate controlled vocabulary in focused searching in a discipline.
2.4 Students will be able to demonstrate an understanding of the concepts of Boolean logic and term truncation.

 

 

Students will be able to combine words and terms to narrow their searching and focus on their topic area. Students will be able to understand the concepts of Boolean logic, truncation, and other advanced searching skills and be able to apply them in directed research.
 

Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageChris Bigelow
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Babson Library
Reference Office
(413) 748-3848
email: cbigelow@spfldcol.edu
Ask the Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Information Literacy, EMS, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Physician Assistant, Rehabilitation, Biology, Chemistry, Math, Physics, Computer Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait