Textbooks
The Library supplies books for short term loans. Items, such as textbooks and other required books, which are needed for a semester or more, should be purchased through the College Bookstore or other bookstores.
If you already know what item you want
If you already know what item you want (i.e. you have the citation) then start by looking to see if the Library has it.
- For Articles
- Use the Journal Titles A-Z list to look up the Journal title (not the article title)
- If the journal is listed click on the link
- See if there is any full-text for the year your article was published
- If so click on the link
- At this point you will generally locate your article by date, however this can vary. If you need assistance contact the Library.
- See if there is any full-text for the year your article was published
- If the journal is NOT listed OR there is no full-text for the year you want then put in a request for the article. See Requesting Items below
- For Books
- Look it up in Voyager
- If the Library has it check the call number to see if it is INTERNET. If so then it is an E-book.
- Click on the title then on the Linked Resources link.
- If it is NOT an e-book OR the Library does not have it then put in a request for the book. See Requesting Items below.
If you need to look for items
If you need to find items on a topic start by searching for information on that topic. The Find Articles, Find Books, and Websites pages in this guide can get you started.
Once you find items using one of the Library's databases look at your list of results. Some items will have a full-text link or icon. Click on this link/icon to go to the item.
If an item does not have a full-text link/icon:
- Click on the Get It icon
- Check to see if the full-text is available
- If it is click on the link
- If there is no full-text click on the "Request document through Interlibrary Loan" link and request the item. See Requesting Items below.
Requesting items
To request a book or an article first make sure it is not available in full-text (see the two boxes above). If not then you may request it using the Interlibrary Loan forms and the Library will send it to you.
- If you already know the item you want (i.e. you have the citation to the item) you can click here to go to the forms. You may also click on the Interlibrary Loan link on the Library's home page.
- If you are searching one of the Library's databases and have gone into Get It then click on the "Request Document through Interlibrary Loan" link
- If you are searching Voyager, the Library's book catalog, then click on the Requests button at the top of the page.
Log in, then scroll down and choose the form you want (books or articles) and click on OK. Fill in the form - everything in bold is required - and click on the Submit Request button. The Library will find the item and mail it to you.
For more information about requesting items, including how to return items, please look at the Library's Distance Services - Requesting Items page or contact the Library.
Liaison Librarian |
Sheri Sochrin![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Babson Library
Reference Office
(413) 748-3848
email: ssochrin@spfldcol.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Human Services
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait