Online Resources
Here are some online tools to help find information about the industry or company of your choosing.
- Hoover'sHoover's, from Dun & Bradstreet, is one of the foremost experts on finding information out about certain companies and industries. From its website: "D&B is the world's leading source of commercial information and insight on businesses, enabling companies to Decide with Confidence for more than 170 years. Today, D&B's global commercial database contains more than 205 million business records."
- O*NetFrom the U.S. Department of Labor, the Occupational Information Network is a database of occupational requirements and worker attributes that describes occupations in terms of the skills and knowledge required, how the work is performed and typical work settings. It can be used by businesses, educators, job seekers, human resources professionals, and the publicly funded Workforce Investment System to help meet the talent needs of our competitive global economy.
Library Databases
A number of databases available through Babson Library provide information on different types of industries and companies. In addition to the ones below, check out our alphabetical list of databases for one that is specific to your program, which can also provide information on job prospects in that field. Not sure which one to choose? Ask the Library!
- LexisNexis Academic Universe An enormous aggregation of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Includes the full text of the New York Times (1980-present).
- Wall Street Journal Full text, 1984-present.
- Boston Globe
- Business Source Premier Includes journal articles from all aspects of business plus research reports, industry reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Business Insights: Essentials Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) Includes research reports and charts, trade publications, international reports, and industry trends.
- General Business File Index of business and trade journal articles on business, finance, mergers, trade, banking, and information for over 150,000 companies.
Search the Web
You can also run a quick Google search on specific companies and job fields. Just make sure you know where you're getting your information.
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info (413) 748-3096 kvautour@springfieldcollege.edu Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
