This is the "Home" page of the "Alumni Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alumni Resources  

Library and research resources for Springfield College alumni.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://spfldcol.libguides.com/alumni Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Babson Library for Alumni

We welcome our alumni  to use certain Babson Library services as guests of the college. Unfortunately the library is unable to provide alumni with access to our online databases due to publisher restrictions. If you are in the Springfield area, however, you are welcome to visit us and access these databases from our guest computers.

Additionally, SC alumni guests can borrow physical materials, read newspapers and use the campus wireless network. Internet access and Microsoft Office is available on the Community Guest Computers in 60 minute blocks of time which can be accessed by visiting the Information Desk, presenting a photo ID, and obtaining a PIN.

If you're not in the Springfield area there are still plenty of resources you can access. This guide, especially designed for SC alums,  will help you use the web to find as many resources as possible. Please feel free to get in touch with us if you have any questions about our policies or about research in general!

 

Public Libraries in Your State

Public libraries are great sources for books, e-books and reference materials; check your local library catalog online!

Your state public library systems also will often have access to various online databases! You will usually need to have a public library card for a library in that state! Here are a few relevant online systems:

Don't see your state here? Ask about online resources at your public library!

Free academic web resources

The open web has a surprising amount of freely available academic resources. Be warned, some of these will ask you to pay eventually! If you are asked to pay, ask your local public library about interlibrary loan!

  • Google Scholar
    A vast, general database of academic citations, links, and references. Many of the links will send you to publishers' websites and ask you to buy articles, but there is some free full text here and there.
  • Scirus
    A scientific search engine. It links mainly to various web publications, citations in PubMed and abstracts on publisher sites. "Science" is defined very broadly.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is a free, public medical/health database run by the National Institute of Health. It contains "more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books." There is a limited amount of full text.
  • ERIC
    The free version of ERIC, an education resource and research database. Contains many full text ERIC documents and journal article citations.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    Searchable directory of free-to-view academic journals, many of which are highly reputable.
  • Social Sciences Research Network
    A huge repository of online papers and research in the social sciences.
  • RefSeek
    A search engine which focuses on academic information. The documents search seems useful, the web search a bit less so.
  • Search.USA.gov
    U.S. government search engine, searches government sites from local to federal. Very useful for finding government agency reports, statistical data and policies.
  • Science.gov
    Searches "over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies" for scientific information.
  • PEDro
    Physical therapy citation database. No full text, but articles and reviews are rated.
  • OTSeeker
    Occupational therapy citation database. No full text, but articles and reviews are rated.
  • REHABDATA
    A free, searchable database of rehabilitation-related citations. Provided by NARIC.
  • All Academic
    A service which allows you to rent articles. Free search engine under "research." Searches mostly conference papers, abstracts and proceedings.
  • Various newspaper collections
    A research guide with links to various online newspaper repositories, many of which are free.
 

Babson Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip